MEDIA RELEASE 7th June 2014

PARING ASSORI



Xylia Allen Stole the Show

By Paul Dolan Racing Queensland Website

It was no surprise that she won. The surprise was the manner in which she won.

Australia's best greyhound Xylia Allen won a heat of the group 1 Macro Meats Albion Park Gold Cup last night but not before giving those brave punters who backed her at \$1.28 on fixed odds and \$1.10 on the tote a big scare.

From box seven the Jenny Hunt trained bitch was last away in the field of six. She didn't miss the start by a big margin but the black coloured number seven rug was clearly visible as last a short distance after the start.

Xylia Allen quickly rushed around the outside to third, then railed through. Passing the judge the first time there was little more than a nose between Xylia Allen and fellow Victorian stayer Mepunga Tiara. But from there it was all the favourite as she whizzed away to score by six and a quarter lengths in 41.55. The track record stands to Dashing Corsair, set in May 2010, at 41.44 seconds.

Xylia Allen obviously goes into next week's \$75,000 to the winner final, as does Jeff Britton's Mepunga Tiara with her second placing. Mullaway for Joanne Price finished third and his time of 42.25 gets him into the final as well.

Heat two saw a Victorian dominance with Angela Langton's Infinite Wish making an impressive Albion Park debut, scoring by 41.83 seconds. Former New Zealand stayer Know Class, now trained in Victoria by James Shaw, made up a lot of ground from well back early to get second.

Third went to local stayer Set Her Again for Bruce Linnan and the time of 42.32 gets Set Her Again into the final. Infinite Wish won last year's Sydney Cup. 2 AUSTRALIAN BREYHOUND BABING ASSOCIATION

Keiron Butler from Ipswich flew the maroon flag when his bitch Eleazar roared down the outside to win heat three in 42.15. Golfing Amy for Des Pollock of Logan Reserve is into the final with her second placing. Third placegetter Late Angel Lee clocked 42.43 which makes him the first reserve.

GROUP ONE - MACRO MEATS GOLD CUP \$75,000 to the winner

Box Draw and Local Market for the Gold Cup 710:

\$75,000 to the winner Group 1 Macro Meats Gold Cup final 710m				
Box	Greyhound	Trainer	Price	B/T
	XYLIA ALLEN	JENNY HUNT (VIC)	\$1.70	41.55
2	INFINITE WISH	ANGELA LANGTON (VIC)	\$5	41.83
3	GOLFING AMY	DES POLLOCK	\$21	42.10
4	MEPUNGA TIARA	JEFF BRITTON (VIC)	\$10	NBT
5	ELEAZAR	KEIRON BUTLER	\$16	42.15
6	MULLAWAY	JOANNE PRICE	\$26	NBT
7	SET HER AGAIN	BRUCE LINNAN	\$12	41.83
8	KNOW CLASS	JAMES SHAW (NZ)	\$7.50	NBT
()9/)~	LATE ANGEL LEE (RES)	DARREN TITMARSH	RES	42.41
10	AURIGA DOLL (RES)	GEOFF DRAHEIM	RES	NBT

Local Queensland expert's selections for the final are as follows.

<u>Luke Gatehouse</u> 1st Xylia Allen 2nd Infinite Wish 3rd Know Class

<u>Paul Dolan</u> 1st Xylia Allen 2nd Infinite Wish 3rd Know Class <u>John Brasch</u> 1st Xylia Allen 2nd Infinate Wish 3rd Mepunga Tiara

What's happening on race night?

Macro Meats Group 1 Gold Cup

The Brisbane club has a big night of entertainment planned for their first Group 1 Final night for 2013.

Next week's Macro Meats Gold Cup Final will be the opening night of the 2014 Winter Chasing Carnival. There is a full bar and Bistro facilities, Bookmaker and Tote betting it should be a great night for all attending.

The History of the Gold Cup

The Gold Cup was first run at Gabba in 1974 and was known as the Gabba Gold Cup until 1980 when sponsored by SGIO for a year and by Woolworths of another year. It went back to the Gabba Gold Cup until 1988 when the race became the FAI Gold Cup for four years. It changed to the Albion Park Gold Cup when racing transferred there in 1993 and has been sponsored by current sponsor VIP Petfoods since 2002.

It has been won by some champion stayers over the year's Dotie Wilson the only dog to win it twice in 75 and 76. Mandarin Girl 77, Picture This 82, National Star 85, Trojan Tears 94, Miss Cruise 95, Boronia Blossom 96, Totally Ablaze 98, Questions 99, Total Denial 2002, 2006 Miss Brook, 2007 Miss Grub, 2008 Chinatown Lad, 2009 Queen Lauryn, 2010 Nellie Noodles, 2011 Bobby Boucheau, 2012 He Knows Uno and last year's winner Destini Fireball.

GABBA GOLD CUP				
YEAR	WINNER	TIME		
1974	Captain Winter	42.12		
1975	Dotie Wilson	41.83		
1976	Dotie Wilson	42.08		
1977	Mandarin Girl	41.70		
1978	Dusty Ginny	41.75		
1979	Mockacindy	41.46		
1980	Gini's Choice	41.90		
1981	Final Dream	41.83		
1982	Picture This	41.88		
1983	High Monakii	41.75		
1984	Shy Deena	41.62		
1985	National Star	41.61		
1986	Clover Park	41.40		
1987	Shy Nimbus	41.74		
1988	Gary's Hope	41.49		
1989	Mary Casey	41.51		
1990	Rocket To Tubrid	41.68		
1991	Cobbalena	41.71		
1992	Elusive Odie	41.37		

GOLD CUP AT ALBION PARK

YEAR	WINNER	TIME		
1993	Pilgrim's Star	41.88		
1994	Trojan Tears	42.53		
1995	Miss Cruise (NSW)	42.57		
1996	Boronia Blossom	42.25		
1997	Red Mystique	42.06		
1998	Totally Ablaze	41.96		
1999	Questions	42.10		
2000	Amazing Dancer	42.11		
2001	Hotshow Vintage	42.15		
2002	Total Denial	42.41		
2003	Dooley's Mist	42.28		
2004	Toss O'Reilly	41.76		
2005	Last Quoted	41.74		
2006	Miss Brook	41.86		
2007	Miss Grub	41.77		
2008	Chinatown Lad	41.91		
2009	Queen Lauryn	42.08		
2010	Nellie Noodles	41.84		

2011	Bobby Boucheau	42.03
2012	He Knows Uno	41.78
2013	Destini Fireball	41.89



Race favourite Xylia Allen winning at Sandown Park

For more information please contact: Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 <u>nbrown@agra.com.au</u>

Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838

